Carabao Cup final date: When is the Carabao Cup final?

Man Utd v Man City: Carabao Cup preview

Tottenham are the first team through the Carabao Cup final after their 2-0 win over Championship side Brentford. Manchester United and Manchester City will compete for the remaining spot in the other semi-final. Having won the competition for the last three years running, Pep Guardiola’s side are the favourites to lift the trophy once again.

The City boss said: “My team won three times in a row.

“A semi-final for a fourth time in a row means a lot. If it would not be important we would have dropped it before.

“We cannot expect it to be more difficult than it should be with the rival we are going to face.

“United was above Manchester City and for us it is an incredible honour to be, over the last decade, there with them: sometimes win, most of the times, and lose some times.”

Ole Gunnar Solskjaer is seeking his first piece of silverware as United manager.

His side lost to City in the last four of the Carabao Cup last season, while also being knocked out of the both FA Cup and Europa League at the semi-final stage.

“The next game is always important but of course a semi-final is a chance to get to the final, to get your hands on a trophy in the next round and for this team it would be a very, very big step getting your hands on a trophy,” said Solskjaer.

“We’ve developed a lot in the last six months, last 12 months since the last semi in the Carabao Cup so of course it’s not just learning to win semis.

“We’ve also earned the right to feel we can go all the way with our performances.

“We are confident, we are going into the game with good form so there’s no excuses.”

When is the Carabao Cup final?

The Carabao Cup was originally scheduled for Sunday, February 28.


Liverpool hero Barnes disagrees with Carragher over transfers [COMMENTS]
Arsenal chief Edu faces ‘big obstacle’ that could block Buendia deal [REPORT]
Premier League final table: Man City beat Liverpool, Man Utd flop [PREDICTION]

But the EFL announced in December it was moving the Wembley showpiece to Sunday, April 25 in the hope that fans might be able to attend.

A statement read: “This season’s Carabao Cup Final has been rescheduled and will now take place on Sunday 25 April 2021, with a 4pm kick-off.

“It is the objective of the League to stage the Final with as many supporters in attendance as possible and the decision has therefore been taken to move the Final from its original date of Sunday 28 February 2021 to later in the year.

“The number of fans permitted will be dependent on Government guidance in place at the time and it is hoped that moving the date to later in the year will give Clubs and their fans the best opportunity to attend in person.”

Carabao Cup winners (last 10)

2019/20: Manchester City

2018/19: Manchester City

2017/18: Manchester City

2016/17: Manchester United

2015/16: Manchester City

2014/15: Chelsea

2013/14: Manchester City

2012/13: Swansea City

2011/12: Liverpool

2010/11: Birmingham City

Source: Read Full Article