Woods let off the hook in rules row at the Hero World Challenge

‘I didn’t feel like I hit it twice’: Tiger Woods let off the hook in rules row at the Hero World Challenge

  • Woods escaped a penalty after appearing to scoop his ball out from under a bush
  • He admitted hitting it twice, an offence which should incur a penalty stroke
  • He managed to escape disqualification for an illegal drop at the 2013 Masters 

Tiger Woods has been at the centre of another rules row — and once again seems to have got off lightly.

Golf fans were left surprised when Woods escaped a penalty after appearing to scoop his ball out from under a bush during the second round of the Hero World Challenge in Bahamas.

Slow-motion replays of the incident on the 18th were damning and Woods himself admitted the charge of hitting the ball twice, an offence which should incur a penalty stroke.

Tiger Woods escaped a penalty after appearing to scoop his ball out from under a bush

Tiger Woods escaped a penalty after appearing to scoop his ball out from under a bush

Woods reviewed the footage with officials before signing for a 69 but said: ‘I didn’t feel like I hit it twice, it happened so fast and it was such a short motion, but under high def and super slow-mo, you can see it.’

The PGA Tour’s Mark Russell said no penalty was assessed because it was believed Woods intended to make a legal strike. Golf writer Ron Kaspriske expressed surprise, saying: ‘Anyone who plays golf as much as Tiger would notice the difference between a clean hit and a double hit or a push.’

Woods managed to escape disqualification for an illegal drop at the 2013 Masters, incurring a two-stroke penalty instead.

 

Source: Read Full Article